Young Leaders

School Council

The School Council is an important forum for children. It enables them to voice their opinions and become actively involved in school decision making, such as school environment, their own learning and even the appointment of new teachers. Each year School Council is elected from Year 2 to Year 6. There are currently 20 members, two from each of the 10 classes. Class councillors will  collect views and opinions from their class to be shared and discussed with teachers and the rest of the school. As well as this the school council will be introducing competitions and initiatives throughout the school year. School Council members all wear badges so that children know who to talk to about their school.

Playground Leaders, Peer Mentors & Librarians

Our Playground Leaders play an important role in school, helping to organise activities and also acting as mediators to help children to solve problems that they may have during lunchtimes. This helps the children in turn to build resilience to be able to resolve problems themselves in the future. Peer Mentors help younger children who may need additional support and our Librarians make the Junior library accessible to the children every lunchtime. Playground Leaders, Peer Mentors and Librarians are all chosen from children in Year 6 who apply for the positions.

This year’s councilors:

Year 2

Aarav Ray & Caoimhe Daly 

Rafferty Barwise & Christian Jones

Year 3

Matilda Needham-Flynn & William Steele

Amelie Sanders & Austin Lazenby

Year 4

Jacob Lewis & Robyn Eslick-Sullivan 

Thea Ormsby &  Leon Dissanayake

Year 5

Emily Murphy & Ellis Foster

Ilya Nadrian & Inaaya Islam

Year 6

Max Moran & Halle Weights

Austin Lynch & Lily Webster

Rudston Child Committee

The Rudston Child Committee are responsible for supporting the Head Teacher and Leadership Team in being ambassadors for the school. They are the ultimate role models for all other pupils in the school.

The Rudston Child Committee are key to all major events that the school is involved in such as taking parents and pupils on tours of the school and generally welcoming visitors to the school. As ambassadors for the school, they ensure that the views of all pupils are represented and listened to by coordinating student voice for a wide range of school issues from teaching and learning to school dinners.

In keeping with British democracy, the selection process for all candidates is to put their name forward as an expression of interest. They then write their letter to the head teacher to outline why they should be chosen. A democratic vote will take place with all staff.

This year the quality and leadership shown by all candidates was exceptional and it was a privilege to be part of this process.